Gypsy engagements/wedding

For anything that doesn't fit the other forums.

Moderator: TMAX

Madine

Gypsy engagements/wedding

Post by Madine »

Hi there,
Are there any people who identify as gypsies or travellers online that are getting engaged and married in the near future?
Thanks,
Madine
Madine

Re: Gypsy engagements/wedding

Post by Madine »

Opps, I forgot to say any couples only in New Zealand?
stuartcnz
Site Admin

Post by stuartcnz »

Could you clarify why you are asking the question?
Madine

Post by Madine »

Because I am a writer for a NZ magazine who would love to do a feature article on it. I asked Sharkey, who looks after the gypsy fairs in NZ, and he mentioned posting something on this website.
stuartcnz
Site Admin

Post by stuartcnz »

Firstly, to clarify. Sharkey has nothing to do with the New Zealand Gypsy Fair. He is a veteran house trucker of over thirty years, in the USA. If you want to know anything about house trucks, he's your man.

If you want to contact the Gypsy Fair, you can email them at: hippyhil AT paradise DOT net DOT nz I was given that email address by them two years ago, but it probably still works.

You could also try Stu from www.htnz.co.nz. you will find contact details for him at http://www.hostingnz.co.nz/contactus.html

I have contact details for a couple of New Zealand based Roma, but prefer not to give those details out, due to their concerns for privacy.

If you would like to contact me directly, you can either join up to the forum, or contact me through http://www.nomadichome.org/about-the-nomad/contact/
Stealth Camper

Post by Stealth Camper »

There seems to be a "sudden" interest in Travelers again. When I was much younger (in the 70's or so...) there was a big surge of interest with the obligatory documentaries. Recently it has come full circle again. Local PBS (Public Broadcast System) station showed the Gypsy wedding show below. Not sure how "true to life", but I enjoyed seeing some of the caravans.