Ghetto Pot Roast

The gastronomy section for all things food related.

Moderator: TMAX

Dennis The Bus Dweller
Seasoned Nomadicista

Ghetto Pot Roast

Post by Dennis The Bus Dweller »

Pot roast in the solar trailer out in Montauk. It made the trailer smell really good :D and it's cold and nasty here so it's a great warmup meal for the next couple of days, Yummy :wink:
Peace along the way
Dennis the bus dweller N.Y.
Rudy

Post by Rudy »

MMMM, Can I come over for dinner? It looks like potatoes, carrots, celery, mushrooms (I think), seasoning, and a piece of beef in the center. Any onions in there? Is that a crock pot? How long did it take to cook? I can smell it all the way over here. I am going to receive a crockpot as a gift soon. I heard that you can just throw stuff together in them and let them cook overnight. Buying a hunk of meat would be the expensive part, but I can see that a crockpot full of food would last me a week. I have never used one before. Do you know if you can cook dried beans with them. Imagine being able to make one's own lentil soup! My favorite. I appreciate any answers you may have. Rudy
Rudy

Post by Rudy »

Here's what I had last night. I get this stuff for cheap at a store called Dollar General. The fillet of Herrings were a dollar a piece, the green chiles were 59 cents, the Ritz type crackers were a dollar for a box. Pretty tasty stuff, and I didn't have to cook.

Last edited by Rudy on Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Rudy

Post by Rudy »

Yesterday, someone gave me this thing called a French Press. MAN! Does it make a GREAT cup of coffee!

Last edited by Rudy on Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Rudy

Post by Rudy »

Later on in the evening, I snacked on this stuff. I also get this stuff at Dollar General. The chocolate bar is $1.35 and the dried apricots were a dollar a box.

Last edited by Rudy on Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
dburt

Post by dburt »